Tuition Loan Repayment Program — General
(Supervising Deputy District Attorney, Supervising Deputy Public Defender
& Supervising Child Support Attorney)

Effective July 1, 2020 a Tuition Loan Repayment Program is available for employees in the General
Unit and in the eligible classifications to assist in repayment of active unsatisfied student loans.

Employees who meet eligibility criteria may apply for a repayment of student loan expenditures
through the tuition loan repayment program.

Below, are some Frequently Asked Questions regarding the Tuition Loan Repayment Program.

1. Q. Where should | send the tuition loan repayment application and supporting
documentation?

A. The tuition loan repayment application and supporting documentation should be
submitted to your appointing authority.

The appointing authority for the tuition loan repayment program shall be designated
by your department.

2. Q. What supporting documentation is required to receive payment for my student loan
expenses?

A. The following documentation is required as proof of:

e Proof of valid, unrestricted license to practice law in the state of California

e Proof of Juris Doctorate degree

e Statement from lender that demonstrates your loan is in good standing (not in
default) and that payments have been made for expenses incurred in the fiscal
year prior to the current fiscal year. A current student loan statement will
satisfy the requirement that the loan is in good standing as long as it indicates
your payments are current.

3. Q. What documentation is acceptable proof of a Juris Doctorate Degree?

A. A copy of law degree OR a copy of the transcript that demonstrates completion
of law degree.

Proof of degree and/or transcript must be from an accredited law school.

4. Q. What documentation is acceptable proof of an unrestricted law license?

A. A copy of license that includes employee name and law license number AND
A print out of licensee search from The State Bar of California website at
http://members.calbar.ca.gov/fal/LicenseeSearch/QuickSearch.

5. Q. Does the County require proof of loan consolidation?

A. No, employee does not have to provide proof of loan consolidation. Determination
of loan consolidation will be based on information contained in supporting

6. Q. Can | submit proof of student loan expenses for more than one lender?

A. Yes, if you are making student loan payments to more than one lender, you may claim
your expenses on one application, but submit supporting documentation for each
lender.
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Q. Are parent loans eligible for the tuition loan repayment program?

A.

Q.

No, the student loan must be for tuition paid for completion of the employee’s
degree, not that of a dependent.

Can | claim student loan payments under the Tuition Loan Repayment Program if |
have received repayment by another tuition assistance program?

You may not claim any expenses for which you have received payment through
another tuition assistance program, which includes both other County and non-
County tuition assistance programs. Student Loan Forgiveness Programs are not
considered tuition assistance programs.

Example: Employee is participating in the John R. Justice (JRJ) Loan Program and is eligible for up
to an annual loan repayment of $10,000 annually. Employee expends $9,000 on loan repayment
in the eligible year and receives $9,000 from JRJ Loan Program. The employee has received
repayment of all funds expended for the eligible year so would not be eligible to make a request
to the County.

Q. How is continuous years of service with the County defined?

A. Continuous years of service with the County is defined as the total length of service

from employee’s hire date in a regular position with no break in service from County
employment.

What is the eligible expense period?

Expenses incurred in the fiscal year prior to the current fiscal year are eligible for
repayment. The County’s fiscal year is the twelve-month accounting period that
occurs between July 1%t and June 30™ each year.

For example, expenses incurred during FY 19/20 (July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020)
would be eligible for repayment during FY 20/21 (July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021).

Q. Is the payment amount determined by the years of service with the County held by

A.

the employee?
No. The amount is set per year with year one beginning July 1, 2020.

Employees who are in an eligible classification as of July 1, 2020 that have two or
more years of continuous County service will be eligible for the set amount of
$1,000 for year one.

For example, an employee who has six years of continuous County service and is in
the classification as of July 1, 2020, will be eligible for a single payment of $1,000
(year one amount).

Employees who enter the eligible classification after July 1, 2020 that have two or
more years of continuous County service will be eligible for the set amount of
$1,000 for year one as of the date the employee entered the classification.

For example, an employee who has four years of continuous County service and
enters the eligible classification on August 2, 2020 will be eligible for a single
payment of $1,000 (year one amount).
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12. Q. When will | receive payment for claimed expenses?

A. Payment will be issued within thirty (30) days of the date in which the tuition loan
repayment application has been approved by the Human Resources Department -
Employee Benefits and Services Division (HRD/EBSD).

13. Q. How will | receive payment for claimed expenses?

A. Payment will be issued through EMACS and will be included on the paycheck you
receive one to two pay periods after the date your application was approved.

14. Q. Will the payments received from the tuition loan repayment program be added to my

taxable gross income?

Yes, any payments you receive during the calendar year will be reported as income on
your Form W-2.

For example, payments received during the second half of FY 19/20 (January 1, 2020
through June 30, 2020) and the first half of FY1 20/21 (July 1, 2020 through December
31, 2020) will be reported on your 2020 Form W-2.

15. Q. Will I be notified if my tuition loan repayment application has been approved or

denied?

A. Yes, the EBSD will send an approval or denial letter by email or mail to address on file in

EMACS. Email will be primary method of contact, unless an email address is not on file
in EMACS.





